Teak Wood Grade A, B, and C. What Are the Differences?

Teak wood is well known for its quality that is resistant to different environments and durability. However, there are some major differences in the quality of Teak wood. The assessment is based on the physical appearance of Teak wood, such as color, grain, and where the cutting part came from.

Teak wood in the production process

Teak wood contains natural compounds that help protect the wood from damage caused by wood insects and is more resistant to moisture.
The quality of teak wood is usually divided into 3-4 grades, but the ones that are often used by the wood industry are Grade A, B, and C.

Grade A

Grade A is the highest quality, Grade-A Teak wood has a uniform color. Higher wood density, has smaller variations in grain pattern and smaller tolerance for color variations.
In other words, there are no knots at all in Grade A Teak wood, because it was cut from the deeper part of the log towards the center. There is no sapwood, and smaller knot's size.

Straight wood grain can be obtained only from big (diameter) logs, which means you can only get real Grade A from mature Teak trees, and round shape logs. Roughly about a maximum of 40% of nett log's volume can be classified as A Grade, the rest are categorized as lower grades.

Garde A Teak wood usually used for premium inddor and outdoor furniture.

Grade B

Teak wood Grade B is less consistent than Grade A. It has more wood color variations, more wavy grain direction or pattern, and sometimes there is a slightly contrasting color of the grain, which is gray or black. Sometimes there is a little amount of sapwood, but the numbers and size of knots are limited. Most traders do not allow knots in Teak wood Grade B, but for some furniture industry players, fresh knots and tiny knots (Ø max: 10mm) are acceptable.

Grade B Teakwood came from the slightly edged part of the border between heartwood and sapwood, and also from smaller/younger logs. It is still possible to get straight wood, but it is quite difficult to get a whole piece of timber without sapwood, especially long pieces.

Grade C and D

This Grades are the lowest quality and the worst in appearance. Most parts are sapwood, and Grade C has much pattern of grain direction. There are lots of big knots (and dead knots) because it was came from almost the outer part of logs.

Wide diversity of wood color, from an almost reddish or dark brown to a white color mixed with gray which creates a less harmonious appearance.
In terms of strengths, grade C and D are the weakest part. As it is known that sapwood will be easier deformed and broken because of the sapwood low density.
Furniture made from Grade C and D teak wood can't last longer than other grades, and is more susceptible to weather changes.

Wood lamination using Teak wood Grade C and D

Less cylindrical logs, or less rounded shape, or a star-like cross section will produce more Grade C and D boards. Smaller log sizes, meaning younger Teak trees also provide more C/D grade teak qualities. In average there is only about 10-15% of logs become Grade A wood

Grade C/D teak wood are only recommended for indoor furniture, and must be avoid outdoor use. Somehow, Grade C/D teak wood will produce better quality and the furniture will last longer than furniture made of other wood species. The color variations can be improved by applying additional stain or pigment to the wood surface.

Premium outdoor furniture will only use Grade A Teak wood, so the price is very high, and the quality is the best. Most of the others combine Grade A/B, the quality still very good, and the cost of production or the price can be more affordable.



Profesional dalam industri kayu dan bisnis terkait furniture | Founder tentangkayu.com

Previous Post Next Post